JAN SNAUWAERT  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 22:54
Member (2008)
French to Dutch
+ ...
Feb 17, 2022

Hi all,

First of all: I have thirteen years experience as a translator, so I am not a newbie.
Since the end of January however, I experienced a severe dip in assignments, that remembers me of the first, difficult year I had, starting up my business.
I translate from German, English and French into Dutch. Normally, these are very good language combinations, highly in demand. I wonder if this a more general phenomenon or just something that happens to me, a bad period that
... See more
Hi all,

First of all: I have thirteen years experience as a translator, so I am not a newbie.
Since the end of January however, I experienced a severe dip in assignments, that remembers me of the first, difficult year I had, starting up my business.
I translate from German, English and French into Dutch. Normally, these are very good language combinations, highly in demand. I wonder if this a more general phenomenon or just something that happens to me, a bad period that I have to sweat out.
Collapse

Dalia Nour
roeland
Esther Dodo
SandraV

Wolfgang Schoene
Wolfgang Schoene  Identity Verified
France
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...
Unusual: weeks without a (decent) job Feb 17, 2022

iqcservices wrote:

Hi all,

I translate from German, English and French into Dutch. Normally, these are very good language combinations, highly in demand. I wonder if this a more general phenomenon or just something that happens to me, a bad period that I have to sweat out.

You are not alone.
It's getting a bit better now, but only on the audio recording side, translations are still lacking.

Dalia Nour
Josephine Cassar
SandraV

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 21:54
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Nothing new under the sun... Feb 17, 2022