Thread poster: Rosa María Domínguez
Rosa María Domínguez
Rosa María Domínguez
Local time: 06:24
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 22, 2007

Hi,
I'm a beginner with Wordfast and I'd like to know if there is any way of converting TMs created with SDL Edit (.mdb) to Wordfast TMs.
Thanks.

Milan Condak
Milan Condak  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:24
English to Czech
Wordfast opens TMX format Jan 23, 2007

Rosa María Domínguez wrote:

Hi,
I'm a beginner with Wordfast and I'd like to know if there is any way of converting TMs created with SDL Edit (.mdb) to Wordfast TMs.
Thanks.

Do TMX in SDL Edit and file select as Wordfast TM.

From sdl pages:
SDL TMX
SDL TMX is used to import and export Translation Memories to and from the SDLX format. In addition to the industry standard TMX format, SDL TMX supports a wide variety of import and export formats, including TRADOS TM's, as well as commonly used tab-delimited or comma-separated files.

Milan

Piotr Bienkowski
Piotr Bienkowski  Identity Verified
Poland
English to Polish
+ ...
Use Olifant Jan 23, 2007

Wordfast might be able to import a TMX file exported from SDLX, but there is a more bullet-proof way:

Download Olifant, the version from Enlaso (www.translate.com), and install it. It requires the NET platform in your PC.

Open the TMX file exported from SDLX and use the Export command from the file menu to save it as a WF TM. Use Unicode (UTF-16) encoding so that the extended character
... See more
Wordfast might be able to import a TMX file exported from SDLX, but there is a more bullet-proof way:

Download Olifant, the version from Enlaso (www.translate.com), and install it. It requires the NET platform in your PC.

Open the TMX file exported from SDLX and use the Export command from the file menu to save it as a WF TM. Use Unicode (UTF-16) encoding so that the extended characters in your TM are preserved.

I often use this procedure to share my TMs with colleagues who use WF.

HTH

Piotr
Collapse

Rosa María Domínguez