Thread poster: Daniela Cesana
Daniela Cesana
Daniela Cesana
Local time: 12:31
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 5, 2007

Hi all,

I am new to Proz.com and have experience only with Trados CAT Tool.
I haven't been working as a translator for a while (after having worked in the past as in-house using Trados only) and now trying to get started again as a freelancer.
I am completing a test translation to get a 30,000 word translation project but I have no CAT tool yet.
Do you think I will be able to handle this project just by getting the free WordFast version? Another problem is that th
... See more
Hi all,

I am new to Proz.com and have experience only with Trados CAT Tool.
I haven't been working as a translator for a while (after having worked in the past as in-house using Trados only) and now trying to get started again as a freelancer.
I am completing a test translation to get a 30,000 word translation project but I have no CAT tool yet.
Do you think I will be able to handle this project just by getting the free WordFast version? Another problem is that the translation agency requires the translation to be done in Trados and said they don't know how to convert WordFast files and TMs into Trados and viceversa. I have read in this forum that this is possible, so what do you advise I should do?
I just don't want to buy Trados now since it is very expensive and I might not need to use it in the future since WordFast seems quite a good alternative accepted by most vendors.

Daniela
Collapse

NMR (X)
NMR (X)
France
Local time: 12:31
French to Dutch
+ ...
Some answers Jun 6, 2007

Wordfast works as a big macro of Word. If you have a Word file, you can directly translate on a copy of it. You will obtain a bilingual file which you can print, correct, etc. You deliver this file to your client (uncleaned), and it is 100% Trados compatible.