Kat.larissa
Kat.larissa
Portugal
Local time: 07:38
French to English
+ ...
Feb 1

Hello,

I am a freelance grant writer and editor working mainly in the performing arts and began working recently in film. A large German company has requested a service estimate for the subtitling of 214 minutes total of videos ranging from 1-minute long presentation videos to 30 minute lectures. The work consists in working with automatically generated subtitles, revising them as needed, and editing and exporting them as well as correcting any small video errors they have. They exp
... See more
Hello,

I am a freelance grant writer and editor working mainly in the performing arts and began working recently in film. A large German company has requested a service estimate for the subtitling of 214 minutes total of videos ranging from 1-minute long presentation videos to 30 minute lectures. The work consists in working with automatically generated subtitles, revising them as needed, and editing and exporting them as well as correcting any small video errors they have. They expect a 1-2 week turn around.

They are interviewing different service providers and this is my first time making my budget as I am new to the field of subtitling for big institutions. I don’t want to pitch too high but definitely don’t want to lowball myself as a freelancer.

What would be the right wage in your opinion? I was thinking 3-4€/hour.
Do you include in your wage material use and quality assurance fees?
Any input would be much appreciated.
Collapse

Arne Krueger
Arne Krueger
Germany
Local time: 08:38
German to English
+ ...
Check the content before agreeing on anything Feb 2

You should first ask them to provide you a sample of their machine text...

Compare it to what you understand in the video and then make a decision.

You might also ask them if they want a sample from you. This way you can show them you are really into it and take it seriously.