Thread poster: Evelyne Targe
Evelyne Targe
Evelyne Targe  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 22:16
English to French
Apr 14, 2016

Hello,

I'm brand new in the translation industry and I'm affraid of scams. Real scams.
I understand that once in a while, you're not being paid. But being robbed is quite another thing.
Now, I'm a little bit confused about the informations a client asks me.
I may be paranoid and ridiculous though.

So, it's for a long job (5 - 6 months) and require to work with a team of translators. Which I think is great !
I sent my application yesterday and im
... See more
Hello,

I'm brand new in the translation industry and I'm affraid of scams. Real scams.
I understand that once in a while, you're not being paid. But being robbed is quite another thing.
Now, I'm a little bit confused about the informations a client asks me.
I may be paranoid and ridiculous though.

So, it's for a long job (5 - 6 months) and require to work with a team of translators. Which I think is great !
I sent my application yesterday and immediately, like within 5 secondes, received a mail asking me to send back a non disclosure agreement (why not ?) and another document asking me my bank account name, Swift code, my bank account number, everything... And I need to sign in the bottom right of the document.

I don't have any confirmation I will get this job. The agency is noted 5 in Blue Board. I should feel safe.
But I don't like the idea of giving them all these details before I actually get the job.

Maybe I'm paranoid.
Please, I would like to have you opinion.
Thanks
Collapse

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Account information Apr 14, 2016

Welcome to the industry!

Submitting all your sensitive information without even knowing that you'll get the job isn't very safe, unless you have thoroughly checked your future customer. You could send them an email to inform them that your first invoice will include all bank data.