Arabic enabled Windows
Thread poster: aiouta
aiouta
aiouta
Arabic to English
+ ...
Sep 9, 2002

Hello,

I am an arabic translator and i need to have the arabic enabled version of Windows...will anybody help?

Stephen Franke
Stephen Franke
United States
Local time: 18:23
English to Arabic
+ ...
Better Arabic support: MS Windows 2000 or XP w/ Arabic regional settings Sep 9, 2002

Greetings / taHaiya tayyiba wa b3ad...

Now, probably the easiest solution for you have a PC with full Arabic support and capability is to get:

o MS Windows 2000

or

o MS Windows XP (XP is definitely the better of the two OS)

They are both better than the previous Arabic-enabled customized bilingual versions of MS Windows such as Arabic Win 95, 98, MSME (I am a beta tester in Microsoft\'s A
... See more
Greetings / taHaiya tayyiba wa b3ad...

Now, probably the easiest solution for you have a PC with full Arabic support and capability is to get:

o MS Windows 2000

or

o MS Windows XP (XP is definitely the better of the two OS)

They are both better than the previous Arabic-enabled customized bilingual versions of MS Windows such as Arabic Win 95, 98, MSME (I am a beta tester in Microsoft\'s Arabic Beta Program and have experienced all of those OS and applications over the years).

The basic software for both of these recommended OS (Win 2K and XP) includes robust and easy-to-install Arabic support. Their encoding is also based on UNICODE, whereas earlier verions of Arabic Windows used a proprietary MS code.

Basic procedure for installing Arabic support in MS Windows 2000 or XP:

START => Control panel => Regional Settings => Language (dropdown list of language options appears) => Arabic (select Saudi Arabian, because the other versions of Arabic shown on the list are defective/incomplete) = > (prompt to INSERT CD) = > INSTALL and let her install.. basiit jidaan..

For more capability, you might get the Arabic version of MS Office XP Professional.