Thread poster: Renate Schipper
Renate Schipper
Renate Schipper  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:06
English to Dutch
Feb 9, 2021

hello,

My very first forum post, and it's about money! How boring. Better cut to the chase A client I've been working with for 10 years has announced they're going to use a new project management system and that they would like to now apply a new TM discount scale to all future translation jobs. No reason given, unless you count the new pm system. See the proposed scale below, preceded by the discount scale I used unt
... See more
hello,

My very first forum post, and it's about money! How boring. Better cut to the chase A client I've been working with for 10 years has announced they're going to use a new project management system and that they would like to now apply a new TM discount scale to all future translation jobs. No reason given, unless you count the new pm system. See the proposed scale below, preceded by the discount scale I used until now.

Old scale:

Locked segments: 0% of word rate
Context match: - (skip)
Repetitions:10%
Cross-file repetitions: 10%
100%: 10%
95-99%: 30%
85-94%: 50%
75-84%: 70%
50-74%: 100%
Collapse

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
@Renate Feb 9, 2021

You forgot to add the new scale

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida

Renate Schipper
United Kingdom
English to Dutch
TOPIC STARTER
here's the new scale + 2nd half of post :-) Feb 9, 2021

@Crhis - oops half the post disappeared after posting, how odd! The new scale:

Locked segment: 0% of word rate
Context match: 10%
Repetitions: 10%
95-99%: 25%
85-94%: 25%
75-84%: 25%

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Bizarre Feb 9, 2021

That’s way too little for 75% matches, which are often useless, and for it to be the same as for 99% matches is even weirder...

I’d ask them if they haven’t made a mistake!

Gerard de Noord