Thread poster: Hilary Ayer
Hilary Ayer
Hilary Ayer
Egypt
Local time: 23:13
Arabic to English
Sep 18, 2018

Hello fellow interpreters!

I am currently taking an interpreting course, and need to complete a "literature review" of all available work on some aspect of Ar-En and/or En-Ar interpreting. As a complete novice, I am posting here in hopes of benefiting from your experience. Here are my three questions:

1. What are some issues in Ar-En/En-Ar interpreting?

2. Can you suggest some scholarly resources on this topic (or any related sub-topic)?

3. I
... See more
Hello fellow interpreters!

I am currently taking an interpreting course, and need to complete a "literature review" of all available work on some aspect of Ar-En and/or En-Ar interpreting. As a complete novice, I am posting here in hopes of benefiting from your experience. Here are my three questions:

1. What are some issues in Ar-En/En-Ar interpreting?

2. Can you suggest some scholarly resources on this topic (or any related sub-topic)?

3. I am wondering if/when the dialects are used in interpreting. I would assume that MSA would be totally inappropriate in some settings, and completely expected in others. Would you consider this an "issue" in Ar-En/En-Ar interpretation? If so, please see question #2 above.

Thank you in advance!

Hilary
Collapse

Stephen Franke
Stephen Franke
United States
Local time: 14:13
English to Arabic
+ ...
Details please, about your interesting request Sep 20, 2018

Greetings... ahalan wa sahalan…

Ref your interesting post here in the < proz.com > list.

Please send some details, especially about that scholarly search part, to me at < [email protected] >.

Can refer you to some Arabic-language materials on the topics of interpreting and translating, most of them used as classroom texts in courses taught at universities in GCC countries, Jordan, Lebanon and I
... See more
Greetings... ahalan wa sahalan…

Ref your interesting post here in the < proz.com > list.